Gorilla Sports Saturday Scoreboard – 13 August 2016

Gorilla Logo 2

Thanks to Gorilla Sports, catch up on what’s been happening around the grounds in the lead-up to finals time.


Royce Brownlie scored from the penalty spot before a late equaliser from Ari Isman saw Moreton Bay and FNQ Heat have a 1-1 draw.

The battle for fourth spot will go into the final round with Brisbane City and Redlands playing out a 2-2 draw. Graham Fyfe scored twice for Redlands with Mitch Hore and Nathan Bird getting on the scoresheet for City. Report – http://bit.ly/2bp2oM5

The Brisbane Strikers ran rampant in Townsville and with the earlier result between the Jets and the Heat, a 6-1 win over Northern Fury means they are the 2016 NPL Premiers. Rhys Meredith scored four, Fraser Hills and Jonti Richter also found the back of the net with Jono Bagley scoring a late consolation for the Fury. Congratulations Brisbane Strikers!

Western Pride recorded a comprehensive 3-0 win over SWQ Thunder. Goal scorers were Nigel Dabinyaba, Joe Duckworth and Mitchell Bird.


Despite being short on man power due to player absences, Easts made Peninsula earn a 3-1 win after the match was locked at 0-0 at halftime. The result means that the Tigers chances of finals action is over. A double to Charles Mendy and a single for Shaun Feuerriegel for Power and Killian Flavin for Easts made up the scorers.

Mitchelton have moved back into second place after a 2 – 1 win over Rochedale. Ben Njie and Gab Sarasol scored for Mitchie with Greg Cheshire getting on the scoresheet for the Rovers.

Capalaba have kept their finals hopes alive for another week after a come from behind 2-1 victory against Ipswich Knights

North Pine felt the wrath of a Holland Park who were deducted three points during the week. The Hawks were comfortable 7-0 winners to stay in the top four.



With one round to go the promotion places in Capital One are still up for grabs with Souths United and Grange Thistle the teams to beat after both recorded impressive victories.

QSN was at Wakerley Park in Runcorn to see Souths bid to return to Brisbane’s top flight after a four-year hiatus that included a brief experience in Capital 2.

The 2016 side, have been bolstered by new additions Sasa Radulovic (30 senior goals for the successful Wolves FC teams 2009-14) and Marco Rodanovic, who boast 245 BPL appearances between them. Moggill, the visitors, narrowly missed out on BPL promotion last year and have fallen into midtable obscurity during the year and were beaten 4-0 by Grange in their last outing.

In the early stages Moggill were looking to attack but were undone with a counter-attack down the right side which led to leading scorer Harun Omerovic able to tap in his 20th goal in his 18th league game. Moggill however still had an attacking thrust especially down the right side to Darren Wickenden.

Their equaliser came quickly with a looped through ball from Thomas Webster behind the Souths right full-back. The volleyed effort from the unlisted left winger was stunning and for a brief moment it looked like we’d have a contest. Omerovic continued to be the major attacking threat, but operated as a provider twice with Mario Stojanovic and Brendan Young firing home after Omerovic’s hard work. Former Strikers NPL Under 20s player Joshua Anderson scored from the spot, whilst the aforementioned Radulovic got his name on the scoresheet as did Omerovic.

The 6-1 half time score could have been more with the green hoops of Souths hitting the woodwork at least three other times. Stojanovic netted twice in the second half to bring up his hattrick. Omerovic got his trifecta as well to bring up his 50th senior goal for the green and whites.

The final score which reflects the dominance in the game was 13-1, with Young, Rodgers and Gjura (pen) troubling the scorers (well they would have if they hadn’t given up at 10) in the final term. Moggill will soon forget this as they look to prepare for next year whilst Souths know a victory in their final league game at Jack Speare Park will see them promoted.

United occupy top spot after leaders North Star were resoundingly beaten by the rampant Grange Thistle who lead 4-0, and went on to win 4-1 after a late consolation.

That result put Thistle 2nd and dropped North Star to 3rd level on points with 4th placed Southside Eagles who won 1-0 against Bayside.

Like Souths, Thistle have it in their own hands and will be a BPL club in 2017 with a win against Southside Eagles next week. The Eagles themselves are also in the hunt as are North Star.

Next week will be a thrilling end to the season in Cap 1, and QSN will bring it to you live. The key games next week are:


Sat 20th August 7pm

Moggill v North Star

Grange Thistle v Southside Eagles

Taringa Rovers v Souths United


Fri 19th August 8.30pm Wolves FC v Centenary Stormers

Sat 20th August 6pm Mt. Gravatt v Pine Rivers United

Tonight’s results:

North Star 1 – 4 Grange Thistle

Southside Eagles 1 – 0 Bayside

Pine Rivers 0 – 11 Taringa

Souths 12 – 1 Moggill


Acacia Ridge 4 – 0 Western Spirit

Park Ridge 2 – 5 Brisbane Force

Slacks Creek 1 – 0 Annerley

Pine Hills 1 – 2 Oxley

Redcliffe PCYC 3 – 4 The Gap


Tarragindi have thrown the cat amongst the pigeons inflicting only Virginia’s second loss of the season in a 1-0 win. With current third placed Toowong playing tomorrow, it potentially means the three clubs could be separated by just two points going into the final round with the Premiership and promotion looking to be on the line on the final matchday.

Narangba 1 – 0 Newmarket

Westside 0 – 1 Mooroondu

Jimboomba 3 – 0 Bardon

Ridge Hills v Clairvaux


Logan Metro 1 – 2 Deception Bay

North Brisbane 1 – 3 Caboolture

Logan Village v Greenbank

Bethania 1 – 2 St George Willawong

Springfield 2 – 0 Kangaroo Point Rovers


Murwillumbah 3 – 2 Palm Beach

Coomera 1 – 2 Surfers Paradise

Magic United v Mudgeeraba

Burleigh Heads v Broadbeach


Buderim v Coolum

Caloundra 2 – 1 Noosa Lions

Maroochydore 5 – 1 Gympie Diggers

Nambour Yandina 1 – 0 Kawana

Woombye 7 – 1 Beerwah Glasshouse


The Gap 9 – 0 Redlands

Olympic 6 – 0 SWQ Thunder


Annerley 5 – 1 Mitchelton

Olympic 0  – 2 The Gap

Logan Lightning 3 – 3 Peninsula

UQFC v Pine Hills