Magic of the cup returns

Rafe Griffin (@rafegriffin)

Embed from Getty Images

Adelaide United and Melbourne Victory have claimed the FFA Cup in the opening two versions of the competition, could it be the time for a non A-League club to finally break through and collect Australia’s newest piece of national football silverware.

Forty-two Brisbane clubs take their first step in that journey from this weekend as all the Capital Two, Three and Four clubs are joined by the bottom five clubs from 2015’s Capital One in Brisbane’s opening matches.

Despite it being the first game for each club, it will be known as round two to fit in with the national structure of the competition.

Last year’s giant-killers Virginia, with former Sunshine Coast Fire coach Richard Hudson now in charge, will host action on the opening night against new Football Brisbane club St George Willawong who are rumoured to have assembled a very strong squad.

Saturday sees another new Football Brisbane club Logan Metro facing the tough task of taking on newly promoted Capital One Centenary Stormers, who have created their own FFA Cup history with some extraordinary results in the past two years.

Logan Village will go from one end of greater Brisbane to the other when they take on Deception Bay.

Just the two matches on the Sunday where Kangaroo Point Rovers will be looking for an upset against Narangba, the same for AC Carina when they travel to Oxley.

Two matches feature on the following Tuesday including near-neighbours Brighton hosting Redcliffe PCYC

The most interesting match will take place in the unusual timeslot of a Monday night at a neutral venue. Grange Thistle has been forced to move their home tie out to Samford due to ground renovations with Caboolture to make the long trek. Both sides have already met in the pre-season Gorilla Sports Challenge where Caboolture recorded a tight 1-0 victory.

The full run-down of the round is below (home clubs listed first)

Friday 12 February
7:00 – Toowong v Newmarket (To be played at Spencer Park, Newmarket)
7:15 – Western Spirit v Souths
7:30 – Virginia v St George Willawong
7:30 – Greenbank v The Gap
7:30 – Pine Hills v Clairvaux

Saturday 13 February
3:30 – Logan Metro v Centenary
3:30 – Logan City Kings v Acacia Ridge
5:00 – Springfield United v Park Ridge
6:00 – Westside v Annerley
6:00 – Ridge Hills v Brisbane Force
6:00 – Ipswich City v Tarragindi
7:00 – Bayside v North Brisbane
7:00 – Jimboomba v Bardon Latrobe
7:00 – Bethania v Mooroondu
7:00 – Samford v New Farm
7:30 – Deception Bay v Logan Village

Sunday 14 February
2:30 – Kangaroo Point Rovers v Narangba
3:30 – Oxley v AC Carina

Tuesday 16 February
7:00 – Brighton v Redcliffe PCYC
7:30 – Southside Eagles v Slacks Creek

Monday 22 February
7:00 Grange Thistle v Caboolture (To be played at Samford)

At time of publication, Queensland Soccer News had been attempting to confirm with Football Queensland the participating clubs in regional areas.