Gold Coast City through to semis

Rafe Griffin (@rafegriffin)

gcc v ac final

In a match bereft of clear cut opportunities, two goals within a minute period has given Gold Coast City a 3-1 win over Albany Creek. The victory wrapping up Group C and a semi-final berth.

Rhys Saunders cancelled out Rob Buhmann’s goal for Albany Creek but a penalty to Roman Hofmann and Nik Mirkovic’s strike in the second half ensured victory for the Gold Coast side.

Early opportunities came for both sides as firstly Cameron Millar cut back for Darren Thomson whose resulting shot went straight to City keeper Shane Viitakangas before Saunders caught Albany Creek gloveman Tom Sherwood out of position but could only shoot wide.

Yasu Fujimoto attempted to take advantage of a Gold Coast defence that had yet to compose itself but he too put his effort straight to Viitakangas.

Albany Creek’s goal came as Millar played on for Buhmann who angled his shot across Viitakangas to the far post.

City’s reply occurred when Sherwood went out to meet Saunders who from a tight angle beat the keeper.

In the second half, Saunders played on for Lyndon Dykes inside the box and with disputes of offside coming from the defenders, was brought down by Sherwood. Referee Rebecca Durcau having a clear-cut decision in pointing to the spot.

Hofmann converted the resulting penalty and Gold Coast had the lead for the first time on the night.

Only a minute later, Dykes had another assist as he got in behind the Albany Creek defence and played a throughball for Mirkovic who rounded Sherwood to finish into an open net.

Victory secured Group C for Gold Coast City who will take on the winners of Group D in next Thursday’s semi-final,

Gold Coast City 3 (Rhys Saunders 38’, Roman Hofmann 54’(pen), Nik Mirkovic 55’) v Albany Creek 1 (Rob Buhmann 20’)

Gold Coast City: Shane Viitakangas, Matt Jones, Drew Jeskey, Tim Jackson, Eoghan Murphy, Roman Hofmann, Justyn McKay, Ben Litfin, Nic Mirkovic, Lyndon Dykes, Rhys Saunders, Riley Dillon, Morgan Saunders, Ethan Grimley, Jarrod Kyle.

Albany Creek: Tom Sherwood, Yasu Fujimoto, Paul Mikula, Jordan Loy, Cameron Millar, Rowan Heggie, Takeru Saitom, Darren Thomson, Rob Buhmann, Chang-Shin Park, Christian Sorbello, Declan Morris, Nasser Mehnat-Gir, Akira Maeda, Cameron Holzheimer, Tom Laxton.