BLK Silver Boot draw revealed


sb pic updated.jpg

Rafe Griffin (@griffofootball)

The 2016 BLK Silver Boot draw was held at Lions Stadium on Saturday afternoon with sixteen teams, nine from the Brisbane Premier League and seven from the National Premier Leagues participating in the traditional pre-season warm-up.

Group A appears to be the toughest group to negotiate out of the group stage with 2015 NPL Grand Finalists Brisbane Strikers mixing it with counterparts, 2013 NPL Premiers Olympic FC. BPL sides Logan Lightning, who made the Silver Boot semi-finals in 2015 and Mitchelton who finished in the BPL top four last season make up the group.

Group B features the newly promoted Holland Park Hawks and last year’s Silver Boot Grand Finalists Rochedale from the BPL. 2015 NPL fast finishers Redlands and Western Pride round out the teams.

Newly formed Gold Coast City, formerly known as Palm Beach, take their place in Group C alongside another NPL side, Brisbane City where keen eyes will be focused on incoming coach John Kosmina. The BPL’s Albany Creek and Capalaba make up the four clubs.

While Sunday night’s Group D sees the hosts and 2015 BPL Premiers Lions FC join the NPL’s SWQ Thunder and near-neighbours Ipswich Knights. Last year’s Silver Boot winners Easts will be keen to repeat that success and complete the compliment.

The opening round of matches from each group is as follows:

Group A – Tuesday 19 January
6:30pm Mitchelton v Logan Lightning
8:30pm Olympic v Brisbane Strikers

Group B – Wednesday 20 January
6:30pm Holland Park Hawks v Rochedale Rovers
8:30pm Western Pride v Redlands

Group C – Friday 22 January
6:30pm Gold Coast City v Capalaba
8:30pm Brisbane City v Albany Creek

Group D – Friday 24 January
5:00pm Ipswich Knights v SWQ Thunder
7:00pm Lions FC v Easts

The four group winners will progress to the semi-finals to be held on Wednesday 10 February with the Grand Final to take place on Sunday 14 February.

The full draw for the tournament can be found on our webpage,

QSN will have full coverage of the tournament, kicking off on Tuesday 19 January.