Football Brisbane releases 2016 Women’s competition structure

By Rafe Griffin (@griffofootball)

Football Brisbane has announced their Women’s competition structure which sees the existing Brisbane Womens Premier League (BWPL) complimented by a new Capital League for 2016.

The final structure has been delayed from being finalised due to Football Queensland’s overturning of their original intention to add an age limit to the senior Womens National Premier League.

The BWPL will consist of 12 clubs in 2016 with each also required to field a reserve grade team. Logan Lightning, Annerley, Easts, Pine Hills, Capalaba, UQFC, Mitchelton, Toowong, Souths United, The Gap, Peninsula Power and Olympic are the clubs to take part.

Eight teams will form the lower-tier Capital One with no reserve grade attached to that competition. The competing clubs are: Caboolture, Ipswich Knights, Holland Park Hawks, Moggill, Pine Rivers, Redlands, Taringa Rovers and Virginia United.

The structure also looks forward to the 2017 season with the bottom four teams from the 2016 BWPL to be relegated to Capital One while the top two finishers in next season’s Capital One will be promoted to the 2017 BWPL, meaning that each competition will have ten teams for the season after next.

Football Brisbane CEO, Mike Quarmby explained the decision, “Ideally our structure would consist of an 8 team competition for the BWPL and Capital League One or a 10 team competition for both.

Taking into account the lateness of the decisions and that clubs have already conducted their trials, Football Brisbane acknowledge that it would be unfair to relegate any of those clubs that competed in the BWPL last year.”

A draft draw for both competitions is expected to be completed by mid-January.