Carlos and Petterwood scoop the pool at Football Brisbane Awards Night

Football Brisbane held their annual Gala Awards evening at the Brisbane Convention Centre on Wednesday evening with Lions FC’s Shaun Carlos and Logan FC’s Tiarne Petterwood claiming the Gold Medal award as player of the year in their respective Premier League competitions.

That wasn’t the end of the line for either player as both earned selection into the mens and womens select team. Carlos also claimed Goal of the Year while Petterwood was the Golden Boot for the Womens Premier League.

For the third successive year, Anton Shchetinin collected Referee of the Year beating out the other nominees Martin Krenes and Jim Bellos.

In other awards presented on the night:

  • Wolves FC’s Alistair Davis turned around a disappointing 2014 when he suffered a long-term injury, winning the Mens Premier League Golden Boot with 19 goals for the season.
  • Acacia Ridge’s Juan Jaimes with 27 goals was the Capital Leagues’ Golden Boot winner.
  • Save of the Year – Matt Tubbs from Southside Eagles
  • Volunteer of the Year was jointly won by Helen Dalgliesh (UQFC) and Tim Smith (Albany Creek)
  • Club of the Year – Eastern Suburbs
  • Mick Novakovich Queensland State Medal for support to young referees – Adrian O’Connor
  • Vice-President’s Junior Players of the Year:
    • Girls – Katana Bailey (Logan Lightning)
    • Boys – Dylan Mobbs (Eastern Suburbs)

As selected by the coach and capital of each Premier League team, the Select Teams of the Year were:


Goalkeeper – Keeley Richards (Toowong)

Defenders – Kate Deegan (Annerley), Marlugu Dixon (Eastern Suburbs), Jessica Hollyoake (Eastern Suburbs), Sarah Nisbet (Pine Hills)

Midfielders – Annika Coyne (Eastern Suburbs), Emily Simms (Annerley), Cassie Vial (Pine Hills)

Strikers – Fern Doyle (Pine Hills), Gabrielle Hein (Capalaba), Tiarne Petterwood (Logan Lightning)

Coach – Anthony Costa (Annerley)


Goalkeeper – Phil Zabaks (Lions)

Defender – Matt Boyd (Eastern Suburbs), Darryll Grant (Rochedale), Michael Ryan (Eastern Suburbs), Matija Simic (Lions)

Midfielders – Shaun Carlos (Lions), Peter Gaffney (Wolves), Alex Janovsky (Lions)

Strikers – Kado Aoci (Lions), Ramone Close (Eastern Suburbs), Alistair Davis (Wolves)

Coach – Warren Moon (Lions)

In a poignant and reflective moment on the night, Simon Clark was posthumously awarded the President’s Award. Simon was heavily involved in the local football community, including starting up well-known local football shop, The Football Sack but lost his battle to illness in October 2014. Wife Julie collected the award on his behalf.


Shaun Carlos (right) with his award as player of the year with Lions FC Technical Director Graham Ross.