NPL Womens competition to revert back to twelve teams

Football Queensland has confirmed the number of participating clubs for the NPL Queensland 2016 Women’s season will increase to twelve with a board review determining the current eleven participants will return for the next season along with a full reinstatement of Redlands United following their withdrawal from the Women’s competition just prior to the start of the 2015 season.

The decision was taken in the interest of continuing to promote elite development of female football from junior age groups through to the senior level.

Further specifics of divisional structures across the competition’s age groups will be considered in consultation with participating clubs and announced in the coming weeks although concern has been expressed by various football stakeholders about a possibility of the removal of the under 20 division.

The 2015 season marked the first year of senior women’s football under the NPL Queensland structure, following on from the admission of junior girls divisions in the competition’s inaugural 2013 season.

Football Queensland Chief Operating Officer Graham Lee said the member federation is committed to providing a pathway for female football through to the Westfield W-League.

“Women’s and girls’ football remains a strong focus of the game at both the state and national level and the National Premier Leagues is a major part of that focus,” Mr Lee said.

“The high level of coaching and club administration requirements of the competition are laying a platform for the continued development of the women’s game in Queensland.”

“It is Football Queensland’s desire to see further growth in women’s football at the elite level, but also our responsibility to ensure that progress is sustainable in the long-term.”