Fury advances comfortably

Northern Fury eased into the next round of the Westfield FFA Cup after dismantling Townsville Warriors 6-1 at Brolga Park on Wednesday night.

Michael Eisenhut and Jake Perry both scored braces for Fury with Jonathon Bagley and Tristan Russell rounding out the host’s haul in the North Queensland Zone Qualifying Round 5 clash.

The result sees Fury advance to face the winner of the Far North Queensland Zones Qualifying Round 5 between NPL Queensland rivals FNQ Heat and the FNQ Premier League’s Stratford FC.

Despite a two week competitive lay-off Fury hit the ground running against their North Queensland Premier League opponents

The hosts surged into the lead inside five minutes courtesy of Eisenhut, who delivered a deflected finish past Warriors goalkeeper Chris Botrell to open accounts.

Perry doubled the advantage on the quarter hour, breaking from half-way past a host of Warriors defenders before slotting his shot past Botrell one-on-one.

Warriors found their feet midway through the half and were rewarded just before the break when Reece Edmonds delivered a 25-yard screamer that curled into the goal off the finger tips of Fury goalkeeper Joe Simons.

However, Warrior’s hopes of an upset dissipated in the second half when Bagley restored the two-goal margin with a neat chipped finish from the edge of the area just after the hour.

From there Fury ran rampant as Perry again converted after breaking through the line to secure his brace.

Only minutes Russell added Fury’s fifth of the night after turning in a deflected shot from Eisenhut – marking his first competitive senior goal of the 2015 campaign.

Eisenhut then sealed the result nine minutes from time – topping and tailing the six goal haul – when he snuck his shot past Bottrell on his near post.

The result marks the second consecutive year Fury have advanced as the sole remaining club in the North Queensland Zone Qualifying, after defeating Brothers in 2014.

Northern Fury FC  6 (Michael EISENHUT 5’ 81’, Jake PERRY 16’ 73’, Jonathon BAGLEY 65’, Tristan RUSSELL 79’)
Townsville Warriors FC  1 (Reece EDMONDS 44’)