FFA Cup – Queensland stocktake

We’ve hit the start of May so it’s another perfect pause point to take stock of where we’re up to in terms of determining the Queensland sides that will take part in the final 32 stage. 26 clubs still have their ambitions remain alive for our four qualification spots. Here’s where the competition stands leading into what will be the critical May period.

METRO ZONE – Brisbane (10 teams remain – 2 qualification spots)

Clubs remaining – Ipswich Knights, Pine Rivers, Brisbane Strikers, Redlands, Moreton Bay, Peninsula, Lions/Albany Creek, North Pine/Bayside.

There’s still two matches remaining in round five, those will be played this Tuesday and Wednesday but we already know that the make-up of round six will consist of:

  • three NPL Queensland;
  • three Trophy Superstore Premier League and;
  • two Capital 1 clubs.

Redlands provided the major surprise of round five, notching up their first competitive win for 2015 and in the process dumping last year’s main draw qualifiers Olympic out of the competition.

In the remaining round five matches, Lions and Albany Creek meet in an all-Trophy Superstore Premier League clash while two of the form teams from Capital 1, North Pine and Bayside will decide who goes into the hat for round six. The draw for that round is scheduled for Thursday.

NORTHERN ZONE (7 teams remain – 1 qualification spot)

Clubs remaining – Mareeba, Stratford, FNQ Heat (Far North Queensland), Townsville Warriors, Northern Fury (North Queensland), Whitsunday (Mackay), Frenchville (Central Queensland).

In Far North Queensland, the rivalry between the top two clubs continues with Mareeba and Stratford looking for a date with destiny against NPL side, FNQ Heat. It will be the second year in a row that these sides have met at this point with Mareeba winning the battle last year. That match occurs on Wednesday 6 May.

Northern Fury’s opponents have been determined with Townsville Warriors prevailing from amongst the local Premier League clubs. That match will take place on 13 May with the winner to meet the FNQ section winner.

Mackay’s Whitsunday and Central Queensland’s Frenchville won their respective zone sections and will face each other in May. The victor will meet the winner of the match between the FNQ and NQ’s section winners.

SOUTHERN ZONE (9 teams remain, 1 qualification spot)

Clubs remaining – United Park Eagles, United Warriors (Wide Bay), Noosa Lions, Kawana, Sunshine Coast Fire (Sunshine Coast), Broadbeach, Palm Beach NPL (Gold Coast), West Wanderers, SWQ Thunder (South-West Queensland).

United Park Eagles will represent Bundaberg against Hervey Bay’s United Warriors in the Wide Bay playoff. The winner progresses to play the Sunshine Coast section winner.

Sunshine Coast Fire will square off against either Noosa Lions or Kawana, both Premier League clubs won their way through to round four with wins on 24 April.

An intriguing battle awaits on the Gold Coast in what will be a keenly fought affair for sides that won their respective league competitions last year. Premier League club, Broadbeach will meet the NPL’s Palm Beach at a stage in May from which the victor will take on the South-West Queensland winner.

In South-West Queensland, West Wanderers have been confirmed to take on SWQ Thunder in round five after prevailing in a penalty shoot-out win against Willowburn in the previous round.

You can keep up to date with all the latest draws and results on our FFA Cup page.