2015 Macron Pre-Season Cup hosted by Peninsula Power

The draw for the 2015 Macron Pre-Season Cup hosted by Peninsula Power has been released with eight teams to compete in the Senior Mens competition commencing on Saturday 24 January at AJ Kelly Park, Kippa-Ring.

Group A will comprise NPL clubs Palm Beach Sharks, Sunshine Coast Fire, hosts Peninsula Power and Sunshine Coast Premier League club Maroochydore Swans.

Group B features the NPL’s Olympic FC and Moreton Bay Jets with the Brisbane Premier League’s Mitchelton FC and Wolves FC the other two sides rounding out the group.

All matches will be played on Saturdays with group matchdays taking place on 24 and 31 January, 7 February and the finals scheduled for 14 February. With four matches on each match day, kickoffs at 1pm, 3pm, 5pm and 7pm, it provides a marathon of games for the football lover.


The matches in the group stage we are most eagerly anticipating are:

  • Saturday 24 January, 3pm – Group B – Olympic v Mitchelton. One of the first opportunities to see the newly promoted Mitchelton and who may feature in their 2015 line-up. There couldn’t be much more a sterner test than against the 2013 and 2014 NPL Grand Finalists.
  • Saturday 31 January, 1pm – Group B – Sunshine Coast Fire v Maroochydore. As well as being a ‘derby match’ featuring two sides from the Sunshine Coast, former Fire Premiership winning coach Aston Bell has taken the reins at Maroochydore this year and will be up against his former club.
  • Saturday 31 January, 3pm – Group B – Mitchelton v Wolves. Promoted Mitchelton with their incoming coach Sam Saif will face the club that Saif brought much success to in recent years. It was an acrimonious departure from Carmichael Park so there might be a bit of feeling in this one.
  • Saturday 31 January, 5pm – Group A – Peninsula Power v Palm Beach – A re-match of the 2014 Macron Cup Final who both then went on to claim the Grand Finals in their respective 2014 competitions.

2014 Macron Cup Final – Peninsula Power v Palm Beach Sharks

The full draw is:

Saturday 24 January

1pm – Palm Beach v Maroochdore

3pm – Olympic v Mitchelton

5pm – Peninsula v Sunshine Coast Fire

7pm – Moreton Bay v Wolves FC


Saturday 31 January

1pm – Sunshine Coast Fire v Maroochydore

3pm – Mitchelton v Wolves

5pm – Peninsula v Palm Beach

7pm – Moreton Bay v Olympic


Saturday 7 February

1pm – Wolves v Olympic

3pm – Sunshine Coast v Palm Beach

5pm – Peninsula v Maroochydore

7pm- Moreton Bay v Mitchelton


Saturday 14 February

3pm – 3rd v 4th place playoff – Runner-up Group A v Runner-up Group B

5pm – Cup Final – Winner Group A v Winner Group B


A separate youth tournament will also be conducted over the same period with eight teams competing in each of the under 16 and under 18 age groups. The full draw for that competition is available here: