FFA Cup – Round of 32 Draw

The FFA Cup draw will occur at midday on Friday so in order to get you across how it will work, here’s how the next phase of the competition will play out.

The draw will contain three pots with 32 clubs contesting the competition:

  • Pot A will contain the four 2014 A-League semi-finalists; Brisbane Roar, Western Sydney Wanderers, Central Coast Mariners and Melbourne Victory.
  • Pot B will contain the remaining six A-League clubs; Sydney FC, Adelaide United, Newcastle Jets, Perth Glory, Wellington Phoenix and Melbourne City (previously known as Melbourne Heart).
  • Pool C will contain the 22 state-based qualifiers including the four Queensland representatives; Olympic, Brisbane Strikers, Far North Queensland Heat and Palm Beach. Notable qualifiers from other states are Adelaide City, Sydney Olympic, South Coast Wolves and Sydney United 58, all former National Soccer League clubs.

Delving further into the state-based qualification methods, the breakup has seen the following number of qualifiers from the various states.

New South Wales (excluding Northern NSW) – 7 teams

  • Sydney Olympic
  • Blacktown City
  • Manly United
  • South Coast Wolves
  • Sydney United 58
  • Hakoah Sydney City
  • Parramatta FC

Victoria – 4 teams

  • South Springvale
  • St Albans Saints
  • Bentleigh Greens
  • Melbourne Knights

Queensland – 4 teams

  • Olympic FC
  • Far North Queensland Heat
  • Brisbane Strikers
  • Palm Beach Sharks

Western Australia – 2 teams

  • Stirling Lions
  • Bayswater City

Northern New South Wales – 2 teams

  • South Cardiff
  • Broadmeadow Magic

ACT – 1 team

  • Tuggeranong United

South Australia – 1 team

  • Adelaide City

Tasmania – 1 team

  • South Hobart

Northern Territory will participate in the 2015 version of the competition.

The four A-League clubs in Pot A will play one of the state-based qualifiers in the first round. Under the terms of the competition, this match will be played at the home of the state-based club. This is sure to see a bumper crowd with the prospect of a top A-League club playing at a ‘local park’.

The six A-League teams in Pot B will be all matched against each other, meaning the 18 remaining state-based clubs from Pot C will also play against each other. The draw has been structured this way so as to ensure state-based clubs have an even chance to remain in the competition for as long as possible.

Matchdays for this round of the competition will take place on:

  • Tuesday 29 July
  • Tuesday 5 August
  • Tuesday 12 August
  • Tuesday 19 August

FFA has the discretion to move some of these matches to a Wednesday for player welfare reasons.

Fox Sports have the TV rights and are guaranteed to broadcast the opening match of the FFA Cup on 29 July. They also may elect to broadcast additional matches from this round.

While it will seem like an uphill battle for one of the state qualifiers who come up against an A-League side, one factor that will assist to balance the equation is that A-League clubs will still be in pre-season training mode while state-based clubs will have been together as a combination for many months.

The 16 winners from this round of the competition will then play the next round on 16 and 23 September.