FFA Cup qualifying update

Round 3 of Brisbane’s Canale Travel Cup wrapped up on Wednesday night and there were also FFA Cup qualifying matches in North Queensland and the Gold Coast so once again, the perfect time to see where we’re up to in terms of Queensland’s FFA Cup qualification pathway. Since our last report, we’ve gone from 62 clubs to 40 still in the running for the four Queensland FFA Cup qualification spots.

In Brisbane, several surprise results occurred with high profile Capital 1 side, Mitchelton being bundled out by Western Spirit. The two remaining Capital 3 sides, Virginia and Centenary, remained alive with convincing wins against their higher profile opponents, 4-0 over Slacks Creek and 8-2 over Brisbane Knights respectively. Kangaroo Point Rovers and Annerley needed penalties to win their deciders away from home. Bayside, Holland Park and The Gap were the other Round 3 winners.

Round 4 will see the Trophy Superstore Premier League sides enter the competition with the following match-ups, including a number of games between Premier League near rivals:
• Centenary (Capital 3) v Virginia (Capital 3)
• Peninsula (TSPL) v Albany Creek (TSPL)
• Brisbane Force (TSPL) v Lions (TSPL)
• Kangaroo Point Rovers (Capital 2) v Western Spirit (Capital 2)
• Annerley (Capital 1) v Rochedale (TSPL)
• UQFC (TSPL) v Holland Park (Capital 2)
• Logan Lightning (TSPL) v The Gap (Capital 2)
• Capalaba (TSPL) v North Star (TSPL)
• Bayside (Capital 1) v Ipswich Knights (TSPL)
• Easts (TSPL) v Wolves (TSPL)

Six Football Brisbane aligned NPL clubs are still yet to enter the race but will do so in Round 5. 26 clubs are still in the Brisbane race for the two FFA Cup qualifying spots. These will be decided in Round 7 of the Canale Travel Cup.

Going further abroad, here’s the progress around the other Queensland zones:
North Zone – 7 clubs are still in contention for 1 available qualification spot.
Far North Queensland – Mareeba have won their way through and progressed to Round 4 to take on their local NPL club, Far North Queensland Heat. That match is scheduled for 20 April in Mareeba and the winner of that match will take on the North Queensland zone winner.

North Queensland – Brothers defeated Warriors 2-0 on 2 April and will meet Northern Fury on 16 April at the Townsville Sports Reserve. The winner of that match will meet the Far North Queensland winner, either Mareeba or Far North Queensland Heat.

Mackay – Mackay Magpies have claimed the Mackay Regional Football zone winners tag. They will play the Central Queensland winner in the next round.

Central Queensland – The qualification route for the local Central Queensland sides became easier with the folding of the CQFC Energy. Southside and Clinton were due to meet on 29 March but the weather intervened and the match is to be rescheduled to a date yet to be confirmed. The winner of that match will play Mackay Magpies in the next round.

South Zone – 7 clubs remain in contention for 1 qualification spot.
Wide Bay – Gympie Diggers and Bundaberg-based side, Bingera, have navigated themselves through to Round 3 and their match is scheduled to be played in Gympie on Saturday, 5 April. The winner of that encounter will progress to a play-off against the Sunshine Coast winner.

Sunshine Coast – Caloundra have won their way through the local sides to a meeting with their NPL team, Sunshine Coast Fire on 23 April. The winner of the match will take on either Gympie Diggers or Bingera.

South-West Queensland – Willowburn have emerged as the local SWQ side that has earned the right to take on, South-West Queensland Thunder. That match is scheduled to take place on 15 April 2014 with the winner taking on Gold Coast champion, Palm Beach NPL.

Gold Coast – Palm Beach NPL defeated 2013 Gold Coast Premier League Champions, Murwillumbah, 8-0 on 2 April. Palm Beach are the Gold Coast champion and will meet the South-West Queensland winner.

We’ll provide a further update over Easter once the next round of matches have been completed but in the meantime, you can keep across where things are up to on our FFA Cup webpage.

Clubs still in the running:
BRISBANE (26 teams left for 2 qualifying spots)
NPL: Olympic, Brisbane City, Brisbane Strikers, Redlands, Moreton Bay, Western Pride
BPL: Lions FC, Peninsula Power, Albany Creek, Easts, Wolves FC, Brisbane Force, Capalaba, Ipswich Knights, Logan Lightning, North Star, Rochedale, UQFC
Capital 1: Bayside, Annerley
Capital 2: Kangaroo Point Rovers, The Gap, Western Spirit, Holland Park
Capital 3: Virginia, Centenary

NORTH QUALIFICATION ZONE (7 teams left for 1 qualifying spot)
FNQ: Mareeba, FNQ Heat NPL
NQ: Brothers, Northern Fury NPL
Mackay: Magpies
CQ: Clinton, Southside

SOUTH QUALIFICATION ZONE (7 teams left for 1 qualifying spot)
Wide Bay: Bingera, Gympie Diggers
Sunshine Coast: Caloundra, Sunshine Coast Fire NPL
South-West Qld: Willowburn, South West Queensland Thunder NPL
Gold Coast: Palm Beach NPL